On Friday 18 June, the winners of the 2021 Victorian Architecture Awards were announced in a virtual ceremony.

Divided House

Divided House received The Marion Mahony Award for Interior Architecture; an Architecture Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New); and a Commendation for the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture.

The jury for the Named Award stated: "Divided House is a meticulously resolved new house with an interior that is both sophisticated yet raw. The humble materiality of timber, perforated steel and concrete is detailed with finesse which elevates and celebrates the palette. With subtle gestures to remove extraneous elements, the house questions expected norms of residential living, the resulting interior is a home with a flexible ease of occupation."

"Divided House is a special exemplar of considered interior conception and detail which demonstrates craftsmanship and displays the innovation possible in interior architecture."

Congratulations to the project team, builder BD Projects and our extensive collaborators for this significant recognition.


La Trobe University North and South Apartments

La Trobe University’s Student Accommodation received an Architecture Award in the Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing category.

The jury stated: "With skill and ingenuity, [the] project has reinvigorated an under-utilised area of La Trobe University’s campus in Bundoora. A pair of arcing forms, sitting confidently in the bush landscape, recede from view and belie their true scale from any one vantage point."

"An ambitious sustainability agenda is to be applauded and the jury note the championing of an innovative use of structural CLT in a building of this typology and scale."

Congratulations to our client La Trobe University, project team, builder Multiplex and consultants Duo Projects, Stantec, TTW, WGA, Scientific Fire Services, XLam Dolomiti, ASPECT Studios, Latitude and Philip Chun.


JCB warmly thanks the Victorian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects and all the jurors. 


Photography: John Gollings